Tapioca Pearl is one of the most famous and traditional toppings. They are also sometimes referred to as pearls or bubbles, even there is a saying that the bubble of bubble tea was named after these dashing black tapioca pearls. The main ingredient of this is natural plant based as tapioca is a starch extracted from cassava which makes this topping 100% vegetarian, dairy-free and gluten-free. Many bubble tea stores are using it in a daily basis. In some dessert stores in Taiwan, they are used in waffles and cakes. With your imagination, it gives plenty of possibilities.
Alternatively, Agar Jelly balls are a better substitute we reccomend as this is quicker to process while still providing the great and similar tapioca pearl taste. They do not need to be cooked, longer shelf life, are ready to use and has a chewy, sweet taste. It is suitable for adding in fruit tea and milk tea. Made from seaweed , rich in cellulose, low calories, and good for the health.